Taj Mahal, Agra

My trip to India was my first great travel project.

I was not of the “traveller type” back in 2006. My wife and I have put aside comfort as a priority and toke some chances with the local means of transportation. We wanted adventure and we got it plenty! I must say I wasn´t prepared for such a cultural shock and it took us some days to adjust to a number of things we weren’t accustomed to, like laud noise, air pollution, crazy driving, heat and humidity. But when all the smoke settled down, I could begin to fully appreciate the amazing cultural treasure that India is. And also equally begin to appreciate the most exotic, elegant, charismatic, complex, gentle (and sometimes annoying) treasure off all… The Indian people.

Agra was our first stop after Delhi. When I first saw the Taj Mahal from the terrace of the hostel, it was like… wow!. The urban chaos that surrounds it just enhances it’s beauty and peaceful order.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog

Leave your thoughts

