Francos

Francos is the place where my in-laws live and is one of those small dots that are hard to find on a map. Despite my frequent visits there, the place never caught my attention on account of its beauty. It’s basically a series of houses and small farms spread unevenly along a net of tortuous roads. There are no sidewalks or shops, just one or two groceries, a bakery and some tiny “cafés”. It’s a forgotten place, except to those who still live there.

In my last visit, however, that place managed to surprise me. That perfect spring afternoon showed me an unsuspected beauty hidden away in the faded fences and crumbling walls, in sleepy cats, busy bees and placid horses. The appeal to capture this mood was so strong that I spend more than an hour shooting here and there with a pleasure that I couldn’t remember having in a long time.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog

2 responses

  1. purpleowltree1234

    I LOVE the daisy angle, and the bee! :o)

    April 30, 2012 at 10:04

  2. Nice grouping of photos, but I’m particularly attracted to that beautiful cat!

    May 18, 2012 at 21:00

Leave your thoughts

