Strolling around Rua Augusta, Lisbon

There are always plenty of street performers, trams, tourists, churches and coffee shops around Rua Agusta. It is not unusual for me to take the train from Sintra to Rossio and then on foot to the streets of the “baixa”, among which, the Augusta is the most emblematic, ending in a monumental arch facing Praça do Comércio. The clouded sky provided a good soft light, great to shoot in black and white. I try to make it as simple as I can, so I shoot directly in b&w, straight from the camera without converting from color. Technically, it’s not the best way but it’s way faster and results can be improved with a little postproduction.

Street photography requires practice and patience; it’s a question of seeing the connections between people and the surrounding space and trying to anticipate them. I know I have a lot to learn…

 –

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography. 2012

.

8 responses

  1. Nice series of photos..

    April 22, 2012 at 17:58

    • António Marques

      Thanks, I appreciate.

      April 22, 2012 at 18:24

  2. Loving the three shots of the tap dancing guy

    April 28, 2012 at 15:00

  3. There are some interesting shots here, but you should try editing a bit more, and being more selective on which shots help to tell the story you are trying to tell. Also, some of these are far too contrasty, and I’d recommend dialing back a bit on the post-processing.

    April 28, 2012 at 16:17

    • António Marques

      Hello, Trevor.
      You’re absolutely right. I’m still learning to refrain myself from over-processing my shots. I tend to apply some presets on PS because I really don’t want to spend too much time behind the computer screen. It turns out that in some cases the presets aren’t the best solution and demand a specific case-by-case approach. The compact camera, small sensor files also have less tolerance to the abuses of PP…
      Thanks for your comment.

      April 28, 2012 at 18:27

  4. Wiwm your pictures are really beautiful. Lisboa is such a nice place for taking pictures, I’ll be following you 😉

    April 30, 2012 at 01:32

  5. What a visual story a simple topic like ‘around’ can make!! Wonderful!

    I am sure you will love these photoessays of mine ‘http://sreeniviews.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/everyone-has-a-story/ and http://sreeniviews.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/work-is-worship-so-they-say/

    Kindly peruse them and give feedback.

    Thanks and regards,

    Sreeni

    May 3, 2012 at 17:03

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Sreeni. I will.

      May 3, 2012 at 22:10

Leave your thoughts

