Monthly Fragments; April 2012

I will start by expressing my deepest gratitude towards all those who were kind enough to comment and express their insights during last week and I also like to welcome the recent followers of this photoblog. It’s been impossible for me to reply to all comments and I trust you will understand and forgive me for that.

I didn’t quite yet recover from being “freshly pressed” with my “Looking Up!” post, last week. Getting that kind of attention was totally unexpected and has made me stop to think for a while on the contradictory feelings I was experiencing. Getting attention is a good thing; everybody who starts a blog wants that to happen, in some measure. And the remarks and insights are powerful motivations to keep experimenting harder and developing further as a photographer. However, this “popularity burst” also built up an inevitable pressure and my plans to approach photography in that “relaxed kind of way”, without worrying on schedules for posting, were temporarily shaken.

I decided to hold back for a while to refresh and refine my line of action. I’m shooting more and more these days but I’m becoming more inquisitive about the real personal meaning within each shot I take.

Another door has also opened for me, in the form of “gear acquisition”. A Panasonic GF1 is now my new toy, filling the gap between my portable, take-everywhere Canon ixus 300 and the beloved but not-so-portable Olympus e-450 dslr.

Experimenting and calmly self-questioning myself… that’s the plan for the near future.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog

17 responses

  1. Wow – those photographs are amazing. My favourite is the one with the rain and the plant – it is very atmospheric and I could almost sense the rain, you have managed to capture it really well. The car park is also very well done.

    May 6, 2012 at 23:56

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Lindsey.

      May 7, 2012 at 00:04

  2. For what it’s worth, my following of your blog is intended to be a pressure-free endeavor. It’s your thing. Do what you wanna do, on your schedule. It’s a Jackson 5 song, in blog-ese. Nice photographs, António.

    May 7, 2012 at 00:25

    • António Marques

      Thank you for the kind words, Amelia.

      May 7, 2012 at 18:11

  3. Love the pictures! Please don’t feel pressure from us…we all just like to look at pictures! 🙂

    May 7, 2012 at 02:33

    • António Marques

      Thanks. I know. As a matter of fact, I do too! But pressure can be good when makes us push the bounderies a little further.

      May 7, 2012 at 18:25

  4. marialla

    Fantastic stuff!!!

    May 7, 2012 at 13:21

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Marialla.

      May 7, 2012 at 18:53

  5. starcruza

    I stumbled upon your blog without the aid of the wordpress powerhouse prior to your moment of great attention. I enjoy your approach,demeanour and photography. As I read the comments made for this blog I see you have had so much great advice from your other followers, so do it your way. It’s what the people want!

    May 7, 2012 at 14:10

    • António Marques

      It couldn’t be anyone else’s way but mine. Just need to find a balance between the “go-with the-flow, do-what-I-want-when-I-want” way of doing things – which is the key to spontaneity – and the self-discipline to force myself to produce a regular flow of work – which is, I think, the key to build a solid and enjoyable body of work, something that can really tell a story.

      May 7, 2012 at 18:52

      • starcruza

        Sounds like you’ve got it all sorted out.. Keep up the great work!

        May 8, 2012 at 12:25

  6. I totally empathize with you, about the ‘pressure’ part…I have keeping a travel blog, and I always feel that there is some sort of ‘urgency’ to schedule my posts in order to keep everyone updated about my adventures…I realized that the pressure took the motivation and spontaneity out of my creative process, so I’ve learned to just enjoy the ride and go at my own pace. Seems to be working out much, much better! So, from one blogger to another: no pressure 🙂

    May 7, 2012 at 16:05

    • António Marques

      That’s right. Here’s to a “depressurized” way of blogging! All the best for you and your blog.

      May 7, 2012 at 19:04

  7. The first picture is stunning !! Congratulations !! AMCHdesign

    May 7, 2012 at 18:21

    • António Marques

      Thanks! I appreciate.

      May 7, 2012 at 19:10

  8. Love the red reflection. Thanks for sharing!

    May 15, 2012 at 06:14

  9. Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! They’re all fantastic images! Kim*

    http://www.travelphotographyblog.wordpress.com

    May 16, 2012 at 09:31

Leave your thoughts

