Guincho at dusk

Last Saturday I joined a very nice bunch of enthusiast photographers and went on a photo walk organized by Fotoadrenalina. The idea was to capture the dusk and sunset light in Guincho beach, one of the windiest stretches of shore in Portugal. The weather was not famous but some rays of sunlight managed to pass through the clouds.

I greatly enjoyed this photo session, not only because of the shots I was able to take, but also because It was a fascinating experience to see a group of people taking totally different approaches in response to the same visual environment.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog

16 responses

  1. The 2nd and 3rd shots are my favourites

    May 24, 2012 at 18:56

  2. The third image does such a great job of capturing the interaction of light and water.

    May 24, 2012 at 20:29

  3. These are very nice. I like #3 and #5 the best.

    May 24, 2012 at 21:58

  4. Stunning! I really love the first and second photos, particularly the dreamy, painterly quality of the second shot. Also, I like the way you frame them 🙂

    May 24, 2012 at 22:00

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Melanie. Frames can be a subject for a warm debate. For now, I like this thin black kind of framing.

      May 25, 2012 at 21:53

  5. LOVE, LOVE , LOVE ALL PICTURES WITH CLOUDS. THEY ARE MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE TOPIC FOR PHOTOGRAPHY – ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE A CHANCE TO FLY ANYWHERE. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

    May 24, 2012 at 23:02

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Marialla. Clouds can be what we wish them to be… And they never stand still!

      May 25, 2012 at 21:48

  6. Some incredible shots, I particularly liked the fifth one… brilliant! The last few remind me of the norht coast of County Antrim in Northern Ireland!

    May 24, 2012 at 23:45

  7. Awesome. The “fence post” reminds me of when I first starting shooting and my wife couldn’t understand why I liked to photography fences and barbed-wire. I suggested it was a “photographer” thing 😉

    But the first image is definitely my favourite. I like the different viewpoint “through” the foreground! Kim*

    http://www.travelphotographyblog.wordpress.com

    May 25, 2012 at 02:16

    • António Marques

      Fences allow us to focus to a short distance, blurring the background but keeping it perceptible still. There are usually great wood and wire textures, also.
      P.S: Tank you for guiding me “through” the English language.(-:

      May 25, 2012 at 21:45

  8. I love the idea of black and white at the beach! And somehow, being surrounded by black and white pictures made the one color picture stand out all the more.

    May 25, 2012 at 04:55

    • António Marques

      In general, I prefer black and white – at least in the present phase I’m into – and mixing b&w with color can be a difficult game to play when presenting a series of photos. I think that B&W always tells the essential of most things like form, volume or texture and color can be considered either as an added bonus or as a distraction…

      May 25, 2012 at 21:39

      • Black and white definately has some positive aspects, as well as a perspective we’re not used to seeing. 🙂

        May 26, 2012 at 04:31

  9. I love this – amazing scenery and you’ve captured the light great I think. I love photos of people taking photos too 🙂

    May 30, 2012 at 02:54

  10. Impressive series from your photowal. You’ll be seeing me more around here. Congrats on your work 😉

    May 31, 2012 at 13:01

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Luís. Likewise, as I enjoy your work very much.

      June 8, 2012 at 22:55

Leave your thoughts

