The colorful way…

I really prefer black and white photography not because of some kind of nostalgia feelings but because I think most of the times b&w enhances form and texture in a subject, which are elements that in my opinion, surpass color in importance.

As I’m not running after a “personal style” as a photographer I’m not particularly concerned if I shoot in color whenever I feel it is the right thing to do. And there are those days when color pours into our eyes in such an overwhelming way…

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography

10 responses

  1. Agree with you on how black/white enhances the image and it can surpass colour in importance.

    June 7, 2012 at 21:03

    • António Marques

      It´s a personal vision that I share although I admit sometimes it´s difficult to chose between color or b&w.

      June 8, 2012 at 10:33

  2. ” And there are those days when color pours into our eyes in such an overwhelming way…” I love that! And I love your photos, stunning, simply stunning!

    June 7, 2012 at 22:28

    • António Marques

      Thank you so much, Lois.

      June 8, 2012 at 10:34

  3. Loved the 5th photo. 🙂

    June 8, 2012 at 01:00

    • António Marques

      Perhaps mainly because of the illusion of scale ?… Thanks for your thought.

      June 8, 2012 at 11:20

      • It’s very interesting to see photos from alternative viewpoints like this, as well as the play with focus and the simplicity of the 5th shot. 🙂

        June 11, 2012 at 02:06

  4. I’m so glad you chose to post these in color! The blue of the sky is wonderful…I would have missed it in a black and white version.

    June 8, 2012 at 04:36

    • António Marques

      Indeed, Sama. Thank you.

      June 8, 2012 at 10:42

  5. Beautiful images! I especially love the vivid red of the poppy–that really did add to the photo in a different way.

    June 8, 2012 at 18:07

Leave your thoughts

