Around Largo do Carmo

The expression “shutter therapy” that I first saw on Robin Wong’s blog makes perfect sense to me. With street photography you never know what you going to get. Perceiving interactions and documenting life can be a totally addictive thing and I confess I’m hooked… in a therapeutic sort of way!

Largo do Carmo is a tiny square that has a small public fountain in its centre and two or tree open-air cafés. There is also the romantic Carmo Convent ruins, as the building – which is now a museum – was partially destroyed by the great earthquake of 1755 and was never rebuild. Carmo square also gives access to the Santa Justa elevator.

I took a big stroll around the area and ended up on this square to rest a bit.

What can I say? The atmosphere was so peaceful, almost magical. I fear my shots aren’t good enough to convey it. There was an especially talented accordionist that I shoot from the back because I didn’t want to interfere with his singing and playing. And oh!… the color of the flowers up on the trees…

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography. 2012

.

6 responses

  1. What a beautiful place!

    June 21, 2012 at 02:53

  2. Beautiful! your shots are good enough to convey the atmosphere.

    June 21, 2012 at 11:54

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Regina.

      June 21, 2012 at 12:03

  3. antonio, you are one focused reporter with a clear sense of what makes a good, interesting and punchy photo essay. very, very well done 😉

    July 2, 2012 at 13:02

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Alessandro. It´s fun to do it, too!

      July 2, 2012 at 13:06

  4. I like the compositions! 🙂

    July 2, 2012 at 15:05

Leave your thoughts

