Match day

Having a spare afternoon, I decided to do something I’ve haven’t done in quite some time: watch a football game in a “tasquinha”, the term to describe a typical Portuguese pub. It’s Euro championship time and Portugal was playing against the Check Republic. My wife and I can’t get enough of downtown Lisbon so off we went to Bica Street (remember?) with the purpose of finding a suitable place for the effect.

After one hour and a half of strolling around amongst street performers and communist demonstrators (!), we settled for a tasquinha named “Vai tu” which translates roughly as “Go yourself”(!) They have a big screen and the mood was just about right.

I didn’t take any shots during the match because you know… it’s difficult to shoot, drink beer and watch an emotive game all at the same time! Portugal won and Cristiano Ronaldo was the hero of the day!

Looking in the mirror.

The demonstrators…

What´s this, dude?

Modas (trends)?

-Why don’t you play over there instead? – (Actually they were pretty good)

As the tram goes by

Love birds

Grupo excursionista ” Vai tu”; You can’t get much more typical than this…

Technically speaking, these shots were the first I developed from RAW, using Silkypix software. I was reluctant to try this because I really don’t want to spend too much time in a computer. At the same time I was curious to see if the time spent would be worthwhile. I don’t know if this is going to be my workflow concerning photography yet but there is no doubt in my mind that the IQ gains can be substantial.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography. 2012

.

4 responses

  1. I think these images not only revealed a great eye, but I think they may have additionally benefited from your work at the computer. I would be interested in seeing where this goes and how it impacts future work. I really enjoy everything so far!

    cc:Keith

    June 26, 2012 at 13:15

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Keith.
      My aim on post process is to find two or tree presets that I’ll be comfortable with and to do occasionally minor tweaks as needed. I didn’t find those presets yet (at least not for color work). I feel concentrating on the shooting moments is paramount.

      June 26, 2012 at 14:12

  2. I love this set of photographs….they are filled to the brim with such personality and the energy and quiet moments of a vibrant culture….WELL DONE! You have another FAN!.

    June 26, 2012 at 17:35

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Kirsten

      June 26, 2012 at 17:48

Leave your thoughts

