Monthly fragments; November 2012

Maybe I´m just in a bitter mood these days and I can’t help showing it in my pictures. It makes me think over the reasons that led me starting this blog. The main reason was to share photography and thus broaden the visual experiences of other people in the same way that mine is broaden when I see the work of other photographers. But it isn’t just about photography; it’s about life and the things in it that I like or dislike. That leads me to the other reason for maintaining this blog, the possibility to get some things off my chest, as I find photography the means of expression that better suits me for that task.

IMG_4635a

Unfortunately, my personal “zeitgeist” isn’t too bright at the moment. It has been difficult to put things into perspective. I would say, actually, that there is an absence of perspective. Family life is shaken as the older members get old, sick and in need of constant attention. Younger members struggle to find a horizon within borders and the expectations from years of study and work are constantly frustrated.

IMG_4511b

IMG_4626b

IMG_4628b

IMG_4616a

IMG_4633b

IMG_4604b

IMG_4639a

I also find harder to reach out to my students and inspire them, as I felt I did in a not so distant past. It feels that they generally prefer to skip the hard work part necessary to any meaningful accomplish … The sheer joy of working with youngsters in the subject of art is also being compromised by my lack of patient to fight beaurocracy, bad management decisions and poor salaries. I have a subtle feeling that things are slowly changing, taking unfamiliar and unpredictable shapes whose meaning I can’t quite grasp yet. In other words, I’m feeling a bit lost.

IMG_4647a

Amidst all this, having spare time and a free state of mind for photography is almost a luxury…

IMG_4648a

But then again, aren’t hard times the best fuel for creativity?

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog 2012
9 responses

  1. Wonderful post! I agree that oftentimes it is hard to understand everything. Life can be difficult and complicated. I had a lot more time to think and dwell before I had children. Yet as they grow a bit older I have more time to reflect on the good and bad. It is hard being a reflective person. But for me I find solace in being outside and in nature, running, hiking or even just walking. Your photography is beautiful! Not sure where you live but keep your message! I have met so many inspiring fellow bloggers that it feels great to share my work. 🙂 we are listening! Hope that helps!

    December 6, 2012 at 03:42

    • António Marques

      It helps, for sure. It’s always good to have someone reminding us of the blue skies gleaming beyond the clouds… Thank you for your truly kind words, thirdeyemom. I really appreciated.

      December 7, 2012 at 01:18

  2. Antonio, your posts usually are so optimistic. And this one is not really. I hope it is just temporary feeling. Merry Christmas.

    December 6, 2012 at 12:41

    • António Marques

      I’m certain it’s a temporary mood. Family, friends, photography and supportive words such as yours will keep things on the right track. Thank you so much, Lautal. Merry Christmas!

      December 7, 2012 at 01:19

  3. your photos are amazing! I’m glad you remain loyal to your truth. Life is not static, and neither is our experience of life. Please continue to share your life in photos. They are beautiful, whatever emotions they touch. I love the trees today!

    December 6, 2012 at 15:45

    • António Marques

      Thank you for your heart-warming words. My deepest regards to you and also to Jennypenny.

      December 7, 2012 at 01:19

  4. Hang in there, man. Things happen in life and it ebbs and flows at times…don’t get discouraged and this is exactly the time you need to head out on your own, clear your head and make some images.

    Ciao,

    Trevor

    December 6, 2012 at 16:11

    • António Marques

      Thanks Trevor, my friend. I know it’s the great wheel of life, always turning and the moods swinging along with it… As we say in Portugal, “Não há bem que sempre dure nem mal que se não acabe” which translates roughly as: “There is no good thing that will last forever, nor a bad thing that will not meet its end”. Cheers!

      December 7, 2012 at 01:21

Leave your thoughts

