Monthly fragments; December 2012

In this last post of 2012 it’s only natural to formulate some introspective thoughts about my experience as a photographer and as a blogger throughout this closing year.

I had full confirmation of how important photography is to me, as a means of self-expression. I don’t care much about the subject-matter, be it street, travel, portrait, documental, abstract or whatever; I know that the process and the outcome are likely to be pleasurable, all things considered and in spite the occasional frustrations and creativity “blanks”.

P1020332bb

It also became clear to me that sharing is as important as shooting. The possibility to have my shots tidily arranged in an attractive graphic layout and to be able to receive feedback about it has been a joy and I must praise WordPress platform for that. I’ll update the blog’s graphic theme, by the way, as I find the home page way too cluttered with text…

P1020335bb

It’s wrong to assume too much about the future. I can say that for now, I’m greatly enjoying black and white photography, mainly because it conveys form and texture in such a powerful way. For me, a picture always looks better in b&w until it can be proven otherwise, albeit in those cases where color really cuts the deal, I’m not a b&w fundamentalist…

P1020315bb

P1020313bb

P1020326aa

Gear wise, I’m satisfied with my current cameras and lens and do not feel any urge to acquire new stuff (which is good because my budget wouldn’t allow it anyway). I’m particularly fond of my Panasonic GF1, which represents a good compromise between image quality and portability, besides being a beautiful and responsive camera.

P1020325bb

P1020329bb

In 2013 I hope to undertake some long-term projects based in the photo essay “format”, that is to say, to produce a series of images that can deeply illustrate a particular subject matter. I also hope to do some joint work with my son Miguel, capitalizing on his talent for poetry. Traveling abroad will be difficult for budgetary reasons.

Finally, as no man is an island, I must say that I never entered a new year with such lack of hope and with such fear for the future around me. Family and Photography have been my primary sources of comfort – excluding good health, obviously – and I hope it will continue that way in 2013.

I wish you all a brightly lit 2013, full of good health, peace and love.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog 2012

4 responses

  1. wonderful pictures, i’m looking forward to seeing more of these in 2013. have a happy new year!

    December 31, 2012 at 18:13

  2. amazing photos! I think I understand why you like black and white. I think I see more detail in them. I especially love the sky and water ones. My best wishes for a great and healthy new year with many blessings.

    December 31, 2012 at 23:16

  3. I’ve really enjoyed your posts in 2012 and look forward to 2013!

    January 3, 2013 at 01:24

  4. António Marques

    Thank you all for visiting and commenting. Happy new year to you all!

    January 4, 2013 at 18:16

Leave your thoughts

