Monthly fragments; January 2013

“Doubt is not a pleasant condition, but certainty is absurd” – Voltaire

Be it a temporary mood or a definite trend, I realized that people are becoming absent from my pictures. All the (few) moments that I felt compelled to capture this month involved landscapes, nature or objects and this discrimination related to my avoidance of subject matter intrigued me. Somewhere along the way I tried to do some street photography – which I love – but I wasn’t inspired enough to find anything of interest and I didn’t even took the camera out of my bag.  It was not lack of will or laziness; it just wasn’t meant to be. I think this is an awake up call to remind me that my place in photography is far from being found. This erratic leaning to a variety of subjects and genres without feeling attached to one in particular tells me just that. I may love street and portrait photography but it may not be “my place”.

So, I must take this as a sign to follow my guts and be introspective. To take a deep plunge into my mind and try to see clearly the type of images I would like to capture.  To remain aware and receptive to new things, even if this means not to produce a substantial body of work in one given direction. In short: to be patient and accept doubt.

P1020368bb

P1020420bb

P1020375bb

P1020390bb

P1020357bb

P1020355aa

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog, 2013

3 responses

  1. i like the window shot very much.

    February 9, 2013 at 22:45

    • António Marques

      It was a strange window with no glass and one could see to the inside things one expected to see on the outside… Thanks for stopping by.

      February 11, 2013 at 13:26

      • you’re very welcome. i’ll be back 😉

        February 11, 2013 at 21:47

Leave your thoughts

