Monthly Fragments; April 2013

I’ve made some short photo walks from which I couldn’t established a line of thought coherent enough to make a simple related set. Therefore, the term “fragments” applies exceptionally well to last April and to this post.

P1020909bb

P1020923bb

P1030086bb

P1030116bb

P1020942bb

P1030095bb

P1030074aa

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photoblog, 2013

I’m not going to bother anyone with self-complaints about current lack of time, inspiration or both. For me, they are obvious. I often endure the frustration of not being able to give more of myself to photography and thus be able to take things into the next level. Well, I know for sure that photography isn’t going to be my day job any time sooner anyway, because if it was, it would probably lose most of its fun.

Gear wise, I’ve been forcing myself to shoot with just one prime lens, in this case the 20mm f: 1.7 (40mm equivalent). I’ve been doing so for about six months and I have mixed feelings about this experience. The good part: It makes me re-think things visually and framing becomes more of a challenge. Also, the shallow depth of field is fun and can be used creatively to enhance the subjects or divert attention to a particular spot of the frame. The bad part: I miss the spontaneity of framing with the wide part of the zoom lens, specially in the streets, were I like to catch subjects as well as their context. Focusing is also more critical and unforgiving…

Nevertheless, I’m going to persist and try to master those personal quirks but a wide prime lens is definitely in my radar…

8 responses

  1. Antonio, I totally here that voice wanting a slightly different perspective.May I suggest the 14mm 2.8, I think you’d like it and will open up a new world.

    May 2, 2013 at 18:41

    • António Marques

      That was precisely what I had in mind, Jorge! The 28mm just feels natural for me… Thanks.

      May 2, 2013 at 20:30

      • Shoot me a message when you get, I’d like to see your work. Its super sharp, I tell you. I remember I had a lot of fun with it. Cheers.

        May 3, 2013 at 00:11

  2. love these pictures, especially the first one!

    May 2, 2013 at 20:08

    • António Marques

      Luck also played a part…
      Thanks, Poojy! Glad you liked it.

      May 2, 2013 at 22:19

  3. That’s close to normal view. Not the most exciting, but you’ve been doing some good work with it.

    May 2, 2013 at 22:18

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Richard. Perhaps it is impossible to be happy with just one fixed focal but it surely would make things easier!

      May 2, 2013 at 22:29

  4. Ótimas fotos… gostei da dramaticidade do P&B – Nice photos

    May 8, 2013 at 15:27

Leave your thoughts

