Monthly fragments; July 2013

Many things to do and so little time to post, these days… Job, family and personal matters to attend have basically taken my photography to a halt.  And now, there is one month-long trip to Southeast Asia to prepare.

P1030714bb

I’ve been thinking about what traveling means to me and I´m reaching the conclusion that I face travels in an increasingly dispassionate way, now.
The perspective alone gives me stomach butterflies more than excitement: The heat, humidity, fear of catching malaria or be washed away by the monsoon and, above all, leaving – albeit temporarily – my loved ones, seriously puts me off the whole thing. Because I can’t stand those all-included resort based beach holydays, traveling means nomad, cultural and human interaction activity that can be as interesting as it is exhausting.

So, why do I go? First of all, my wife loves to travel. Second, Southeast Asia is (still) affordable and has a genuine cultural environment that will not last forever. Third and most important reason: I come back from these long trips with the deep realization of how important my family, home and land is to me. It makes me see how incredibly lucky I am to have what I have and why I should feel happy about it. That sweet, peaceful feeling of coming back home is the best travel experience I can enjoy, even if I´ve gone trough the most exotic people and places.

Oh, and did I mention that traveling also allows  great photo opportunities?  See you all soon.

P1030820bb

P1030822aa

P1030791aa

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography, 2013

11 responses

  1. interesting to hear your perspective on travel. I take it that you’ve travelled a fair bit… for me I am still in the wanderlust stage and it excites me but I haven’t done a lot of that (so far) and that probably is also a reason – you generally like something more when you can’t get enough of it

    Which parts of Asia would you be travelling , if you don’t mind sharing ?

    August 2, 2013 at 05:04

    • António Marques

      I’ll be traveling to Thailand and Laos. I must see these faraway places while I still have the will and energy… Thanks for stopping by, Abu.

      August 2, 2013 at 08:42

      • awesome… have a fun trip and share the wonderful pics you will take there !

        August 3, 2013 at 02:31

  2. Throw your cellphone, email into your suitcase and not worry about anything other than your vacation 🙂

    August 2, 2013 at 06:34

    • António Marques

      Sure thing! It’s precisely what I intend to do. Thanks, Alan.

      August 2, 2013 at 08:44

  3. Nice post, and pictures. Familiar feeling as well.

    August 2, 2013 at 11:25

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Alexander. You´re also a much appreciated and familiar visitor.

      August 18, 2013 at 14:36

  4. Southeast Asia is definitely one of the easiest regions in the world to travel, not because I live in one of the countries there though. And forget about malaria, the monsoon, and such, just enjoy your time! 🙂 Wish you have a great time exploring this part of Asia!

    August 18, 2013 at 12:46

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Bama. I´m currently in Thakhek, Laos and i´m loving it…

      August 18, 2013 at 14:31

  5. Reblogged this on sordidday and commented:
    I’ve been thinking about what traveling means to me and I´m reaching the conclusion that I face travels in an increasingly dispassionate way, now. The perspective alone gives me stomach butterflies more than excitement: The heat, humidity, fear of catching malaria or be washed away by the monsoon and, above all, leaving – albeit temporarily – my loved ones, seriously puts me off the whole thing. Because I can’t stand those all-included resort based beach holydays, traveling means nomad, cultural and human interaction activity that can be as interesting as it is exhausting.

    April 3, 2014 at 12:43

  6. Great to know about your travelogues, shall keep myself updated. Following, now.

    April 3, 2014 at 12:44

Leave your thoughts

