Monthly fragments; September 2014

Strange September. Hot and wet, like in the tropics. Everyone has returned to their jobs  – or the lack of it – after vacations. Everything seems to follow its normal corse. And yet, I feel there’s this emptiness I can´t quite put my finger on. I’m having some trouble connecting emotionally with this net of trivial events that unfolds every year, regarding the places I usually go and the people who populate them. People are more or less gone, I feel. They are still there, walking, talking and eating but their minds are absent. And my mind is absent to. I feel it because it’s been hard to find interesting enough subjects on the streets to the point of making me want to take pictures. Everything seems copied from something I have already seen. So, I’m closing myself to the great outside for a while, and will try to focus on the tiny details closer to me. Makes sense? I’ not sure, yet…

.

P1020069_08Set2014_bb

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography. 2014

10 responses

  1. This is such a great post!

    September 20, 2014 at 05:23

    • António Marques

      Thank you, Melanie. Glad you liked it.

      September 20, 2014 at 22:07

  2. Love the mood of these pictures especially the one of the pair of legs

    September 20, 2014 at 08:18

    • António Marques

      I like to play with the notion of size and scale. It felt a good opportunity to make those streaks of rock look like a great river and Zé to look like a giant. Thanks for commenting, Angelina.

      September 20, 2014 at 22:20

  3. Such beautiful mood

    September 20, 2014 at 11:37

    • António Marques

      Thanks, Victor.

      September 20, 2014 at 22:23

  4. Some stunning monochromes, Antonio. I find the one with the book especially… uhm … suggestiva. I can’t think of the English right now, Another inspiring post.

    September 20, 2014 at 18:38

    • António Marques

      Grazie, Alessandro. There are so many objects just under my nose that I ought to give attention to…

      September 21, 2014 at 16:35

  5. i also find the shot with the book very intriguing. great work.

    September 28, 2014 at 20:15

  6. Really nice pictures! I have a blog with some pictures and illustrations. Come and take a look, and if you like it don’t doubt to follow me! Thanks and great work!

    http://laiamirallestoledo.wordpress.com/

    October 11, 2014 at 08:13

Leave your thoughts

