Traveling without travel

Lisbon Airport. 2015

Lisbon Airport. 2015

When I come to think of it, air traveling isn’t really traveling. It feels like a kind of teleportation. No hard bumps, no sudden movements… The stillness and smoothness of it all doesn’t seem to logically relate with the incredible speed and the lethal environment on the outside. Seat, read, sleep… and we are on the other side of the world!

I understand the physics of flight but when I arrive to my destination, a part of my brain always wonders how can this be possible. Places have moved away, not me. My departure city has gone and my destination place has arrived just outside my airplane door…

All photographs by António Marques – © António Marques Photography, 2015

2 responses

  1. I really like how you have described air travel; I’ve felt the same way. In fact, I often feel that way when traveling on an expressway in the U.S. It’s as if I just have to stay in the car on this road for a certain length of time, and then I can get off. Then I will be where I want to be, the experience having nothing to do with moving through space.

    December 10, 2015 at 18:18

    • António Marques

      The idea of travel as a means to interact with the surrounding environment is definitely absent in airplane travel… Thanks, Linda.

      December 11, 2015 at 10:57

Leave your thoughts

